NHL Vezina Trophy Odds 2024

William Schwartz
Last Updated: Sep 5, 2023

If there’s one thing that NHL teams have learned time and time again, it’s the value of a great goaltender.

As the only player who spends the entire game on the ice, a netminder’s performance can make or break a team’s performance.

As such, the best in the business deserve to be recognized for their efforts. The Vezina Trophy serves that exact purpose, annually honoring the NHL’s top goaltender.

After Boston’s Linus Ullmark took home the award last year, let’s look at the 2024 Vezina Trophy odds, analyze the candidates, and predict which netminder will be honored next season.

NHL Vezina Trophy Odds 2024

NHL betting odds used for these Vezina Trophy predictions are from Thursday, Aug. 31, and courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook.

  • Ilya Sorokin, New York Islanders (+400)
  • Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers (+600)
  • Juuse Saros, Nashville Predators (+600)
  • Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets (+700)
  • Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning (+800)
  • Jake Oettinger, Dallas Stars (+1200)
  • Linus Ullmark, Boston Bruins (+1800)
  • Filip Gustavsson, Minnesota Wild (+2000)
  • Alexandar Georgiev, Colorado Avalanche (+2500)
  • Jeremy Swayman, Boston Bruins (+3000)
  • Carter Hart, Philadelphia Flyers (+3000)
  • Jacob Markstrom, Calgary Flames (+3000)
  • Thatcher Demko, Vancouver Canucks (+3000)

Who Will Win The 2024 Vezina Trophy?

Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers (+600)

Ullmark isn’t at the top of the odds board since repeat Vezina winners have become extremely rare in recent years. The most recent was Martin Brodeur in 2008.

That said, I’m picking against another trend here. Shesterkin won the Vezina in 2022, and another would see him join Sergei Bobrovsky as the only two active goalies with multiple Vezina trophies.

Shesterkin’s 2021-22 campaign was spectacular, posting an outrageous .935 save percentage and a 2.08 goals against average. He regressed slightly last season but put together some truly incredible performances against the Devils in the playoffs amidst lethargic team efforts, leaving no doubt that he is still one of the best in the business.

Vezina Trophy Favorites

Ilya Sorokin, New York Islanders (+400)

If you want to play the trends and take a goaltender who would be a first-time winner, Sorokin might be your guy.

He was fantastic last year, finishing third in the NHL with a .924 save percentage, only behind Ullmark and Minnesota’s Filip Gustavsson, who only played 39 games.

  • Want to bet more hockey futures? Check out our NHL MVP odds.

Sorokin also led the league with six shutouts, a figure reflective of the fact that he can become a brick wall when he gets hot.

After going down quietly in the first round of the playoffs, Sorokin and the Isles will be back with a vengeance this season.

Juuse Saros, Nashville Predators (+600)

Like Sorokin, Saros would be a first-time winner and a very deserving one.

Saros has been an absolute workhorse for Nashville, leading all goalies in games played and goalie point shares for the second year in a row. This past season, he faced the most shots of any goaltender (2,099) and made the most saves (1,928).

However, Saros isn’t just a volume guy. He also tied for sixth in save percentage (.919).

Few goalies mean more to their team than the 28-year-old, who has even picked up MVP votes in two of the last three years. He could win his first Vezina with a small statistical bump and similar volume.

Vezina Trophy Contenders

Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets (+700)

Similarly to Saros, Hellebuyck does more for his team than just about any goalie in the league. From the 2018-19 season up until 2021-22, he led the NHL in shots faced and saves each season, a testament to how much the Jets rely on him.

Hellebuyck willed Winnipeg into the playoffs last season, where he did not perform exceptionally in an opening-round loss to eventual champion Vegas.

We’ll see if the American netminder, who has been the subject of some offseason trade rumors, can bounce back with another strong campaign.

Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning (+800)

As a previous Vezina winner with an immaculate playoff pedigree, Vasilevskiy has to be discussed in any conversation about the NHL’s best goalies. Although he has made a name for himself in the postseason, it’s impossible to ignore his regular-season accomplishments.

A model of consistency, Vasilevskiy led the league in goalie wins five seasons in a row before snapping the streak last season. His save percentage of .915 was his lowest since 2015-16, but at age 29, he should be able to bounce back.

Vezina Trophy Sleepers

Jake Oettinger, Dallas Stars (+1200)

These are enticing odds on perhaps the best American netminder in today’s game.

Oettinger enters his age-25 season and is coming off a second consecutive impressive postseason. His playoff numbers weren’t as dazzling as in 2022 when he put up a ridiculous .954 save percentage, but he had some outstanding games while leading the Stars to the Western Conference Final.

In the regular season, Oettinger racked up 37 victories (tied for third league-wide), posted five shutouts (tied second), and a 2.37 goals against average.

He’s poised for another strong campaign on a Dallas squad that should again be among the Western Conference’s elite.

Alexandar Georgiev, Colorado Avalanche (+2500)

Georgiev had a prolific first season as a full-time starter after moving to Colorado to get out of Shesterkin’s shadow.

He led the league with 40 wins last season, five of which were shutouts, and posted a .919 save percentage.

After a great start to his Avalanche tenure, Georgiev should only feel more comfortable in Year 2. Playing behind stud defensemen Cale Makar, a favorite in our Norris Trophy odds, and Devon Toews also helps.

Georgiev could put up league-leading numbers this season.

Previous Vezina Trophy Winners

2023: Linus Ullmark, Boston Bruins

2022: Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers

2021: Marc-Andre Fleury, Vegas Golden Knights

2020: Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets

2019: Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning

2018: Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators

2017: Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets

2016: Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals

2015: Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

2014: Tuuka Rask, Boston Bruins


William Schwartz

As a former athlete and lifetime fan, sports have always been a huge part of my life. I've written about them for almost as long as I've been watching and playing them, from a blog I wrote with a friend in middle school, to journalism classes at the University of Michigan, to today. I hope to bring you entertaining coverage, strong analysis, and profitable betting picks on any and all sports, whether it's baseball, college football, European soccer, or anything in between.

Related articles